22 Years Ago Today…

Even before I lay out what I’m trying to do with this blog, I have to remark about this titular moment in my life. And probably yours too.

Today marks the 22nd anniversary of Michael Jordan’s first return to the NBA. I was in eighth grade and living in the suburbs of Chicago; I was obsessed with Michael Jordan, the Bulls, and NBA basketball. All the “Second Coming” talk surrounding Jordan coming back; I bought in hook, line, and sinker.

So, yesterday (22 years ago), March 18, Jordan releases his “I’m back” fax.

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 8.35.33 AM.png
Just for posterity sake – the fax did not have an exclamation point.

Prior to the “I’m back” fax – there was chatter…lots of chatter. Did you hear Michael and BJ Armstrong were locked out of the Berto Center? Did you see Scottie point at his Jordans, point at the camera, and tell Michael to comeback?

What the fuck is going on?!

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 9.21.48 AM.png
Always a fan of Pip wearing Jordans.

Baseball struck and Michael didn’t want to cross union lines or some shit like that. And, or course, there’s the conspiracy theory that the hiatus was just a super secret David Stern suspension (something that will be discussed about at length here).

Either way, Michael’s back! Wearing number 45! Playing in Indianapolis! And shooting 7 for 28 from the field…

Screen Shot 2017-03-19 at 9.53.27 AM.png
Why did Harp only play one minute? I remember this being a hard game to watch – 41% from the field for Da Bulls – barf.
Leave a Reply

